Faking It

There are times in life when the real thing just won’t do.

I’ve recently come to the conclusion that sometimes you just have to fake it.

And that’s OK.

Allow me back up for a moment…

My sweet husband came home one day last December with a small Christmas cactus for me.

It was such a nice surprise that I fell in love with him all over again.

You see, even though he has lots of great qualities, being romantic is not one of them.

And that is what made that little plant so special.

I say “made” in the past tense because…

are you ready for this?

I killed it.

How in the world I managed to kill a CACTUS, I’ll never know!!

(sigh)

My kids are dressed in clean clothes, well-fed and taught every day so I guess that means I have my priorities straight.

BUT STILL.

At times like these I tell myself, “It’s OK to have a fake plant.”

Now I’m usually not in favor of using fake plants. But since I happened to kill a CACTUS, I figured it was OK to make an exception to my rule.

Rules are meant to be broken, right? The answer is a resounding “YES” when it comes to decorating your home.

So without further adieu, let me introduce you to my new fake plant:

It took the place of my dearly departed cactus.

Seriously folks, have you ever seen a wilted cactus? It’s not pretty.

But my new fake plant is. (At least I think so).

He (or she) sits on my antique telephone stand that’s been in my family for decades. It’s right beside my bed so it’s one of the first things I see in the morning and the last things I see at night.

Whenever I look at it, I will remember how I killed the sweet little cactus my beloved husband gave to me how thoughtful it was of my husband to buy me a plant. 

Wanna know a secret?

He hasn’t even noticed.

Shhhh! Don’t tell:)

Published in: on March 30, 2011 at 5:30 am  Leave a Comment  
Tags: , ,

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://makeminevintage.wordpress.com/2011/03/30/faking-it/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

