An Update and Chalkboard Labels

First off, I want to extend a heartfelt thank you to everyone who prayed for our family’s recent loss. We so appreciate the outpouring of support during this confusing and difficult time.

Please continue to pray for unity in the family as there are many decisions yet to be made. Also, please pray for our nephew, Tommy, the 28-year-old son my sister-in-law leaves behind. One thing I’ve learned in my walk of faith is that when you don’t know the “why”, you can trust the “Who”. 

I promised some lighter content, so here goes. With everything that has happened as of late, I found myself trying to keep both my mind and my hands busy. This is what I came up with:

When I refreshed our laundry room, I knew I wanted to add labels to our four laundry baskets – one for each person in the family. I put it off because I was originally thinking I would make a vintage-looking fabric label. Then I remembered I had these:

and this:

I put the two together and came up with chalkboard labels.

First, I painted each label with the chalkboard paint:

Then I made a template out of an index card so I knew where to drill the holes for the twine:

(My husband did this for me -yea!)

Then I threaded the twine through the hole:

I tied it up and cut off the extra twine:

Had everyone write his name:

And this is what it looks like:

So now, all I do is take the laundry out of the dryer, fold it and put it in the right labeled basket.

In a perfect world, each person takes his basket to his room, puts the laundry away and brings the empty basket back to the laundry room.

OK, so I don’t live in a perfect world…but I do have some really cute chalkboard labels;)

Published in: on March 27, 2011 at 11:09 pm  Leave a Comment  
Tags: , , , ,

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://makeminevintage.wordpress.com/2011/03/27/an-update-and-chalkboard-labels/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

