Almond Shortbread Cookies

At Bible study one night, I grabbed a cup of decaf and one of these cookies.

Then I grabbed another one.

And another one.

I even eyed the last one, but I was way too embarrassed to take it!

Guess what happened?

At the end of the night, the woman next to me picked up the plate and asked me if I wanted the last cookie.

So I ate that one, too!

Shame on me, I know. But they’re that good, I tell ‘ya.

My thoughtful teacher who had brought them was kind enough to share the recipe with us. 

Wasn’t that sweet?

So now I’m going to share it with you. All the credit goes to Debi who is not only an excellent teacher, but also a seriously amazing baker. Enjoy!

Almond Shortbread Cookies

  • 1 C (2 sticks) butter, softened
  • 2/3 C sugar
  • 1/2 tsp almond extract
  • 2 C flour
  • little less than 1/4 C finely ground pecans
  • jam

Beat together butter, sugar and almond extract until smooth. Slowly add flour and beat until well mixed. Add ground pecans and mix again until thoroughly blended.

Shape into a ball, cover with plastic wrap and refrigerate about one hour.

Remove from fridge and shape into 1-inch balls. (I flattened mine slightly with the bottom of a glass dipped in sugar). Make an indentation in the center of the cookie. Fill with jam.

Bake at 350 for 14-18 minutes or until edges are very lightly browned. Remove from oven and cool.

Makes approximately 3 dozen.

Published in: on March 22, 2011 at 6:00 am  Leave a Comment  
Tags: ,

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://makeminevintage.wordpress.com/2011/03/22/almond-shortbread-cookies/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

