Never Pay More Than $5 For Jeans

It’s no secret that I’m kinda thrifty.

I’m not one to save dryer lint or reuse plastic sandwich bags (my apologies to those who do), but I can find a great pair of jeans for $5 or less.

How?

I shop at Goodwill.

Yep, the place that my husband WILL NOT GO with me – that’s where I buy most of my clothes.

I’m constantly amazed at what I find there.

Dark wash? Check.

Bootcut? Check.

Brand name? Check.

Price? $5.

(Depending on the day, sometimes I can even get those same jeans for half off. $2.50 people. A happy meal costs more than that!)

I’ve found jeans from Gap and Express:

Daisy Fuentes:

and Polo and American Eagle to name a few.

Did I find them all in the same trip?

No. You do have to go frequently.

Sometimes you’ll find nothing. And other times you’ll hit the jackpot.

Here are some other tips when thrifting for clothes, especially jeans:

  • Know what you want. If I’m on the hunt for a new-to-me pair of jeans, I go straight to that rack.
  • Know what looks good on your figure. Generally speaking, mid-rise, bootcut jeans in a dark wash are the most flattering. Stay away from the “mom” jeans. You can do much better. It really is possible to find inexpensive jeans that are both flattering and comfortable.
  • Know what you like. I have more of a classic style. I’m drawn to the timeless, not the trendy. If you are looking for the latest trends, your options will be limited, but then again, you just might get lucky!
  • Know when to shop. Typically, it’s best to shop early in the week as people tend to clean out their closets on the weekend.
  • Go alone. Seriously, it’s really hard to shop with kids in tow, especially when thrifting.
  • Be willing to do some digging. You may have to go through 3/4 of a rack to find two or three pairs that meet your criteria. It’s OK.
  • Size doesn’t matter, fit does. Don’t get locked into a certain size mentality. It’s counterintuitive, I know, but sometimes a larger size makes you look smaller. Remember, you’re going for fit, not a number. 
  • Always, always try everything on. Clothes are made to look good on a person, not a hanger. In my experience, an item that looks really cute on a hanger looks terrible on. The opposite is also true. When in doubt, try it on. You have nothing to lose.
  • Wear something easy to slip off and on. A button-down shirt, khakis with two buttons, a zipper and a belt and lace up shoes are all a bad idea. Instead, wear an oversize sweater or tunic (long enough to cover your hips), leggings and a pair of flats. You’ll be cute and fast.
  • Bring cash. Some stores have a separate line for cash-only customers, which is a huge time-saver.

And my most important tip of all…

Don’t buy something  just because it’s a great deal.

Make sure every item you buy is your new favorite. That means you love it just the way it is, at just the size you are right now

Anything less is not a bargain – which is really the point of thrifting, right?

Published in: on March 17, 2011 at 6:00 am  Comments (2)  
Tags: , , ,

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://makeminevintage.wordpress.com/2011/03/17/never-pay-more-than-5-for-jeans/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

2 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. Great post on thrifting! You are so right about it all. As bad as shopping for jeans at the Goodwill is, how much worse at the mall!

    • I agree with you! I never ever find jeans that fit when I go to the mall, but I always seem to find ones that do fit when I thrift. Go figure!! Thanks so much for taking the time to leave a comment!


Leave a Reply

