Looking Toward Heaven

Colossians 3:2 says, “Set your mind on things above, not on things on the earth”.

How many of us do this on a daily basis?

OK, how about once a week?

Well, how many of us do this at all?

My husband and I were listening to blue grass last night after our boys were in bed (we’re a wild and crazy couple, I tell ya), when I noticed something…

almost all of that music talked about how they can’t wait until they get to heaven.

Here are some examples:

“In the sweet by and by, we shall meet on that beautiful shore”

“I’ll fly away, oh glory, I’ll fly away. When I die, hallelujah by and by, “I’ll fly away”

“When we all get to heaven, what a day of rejoicing that will be. When we all see Jesus, we’ll sing and shout the victory”

 Why is that?

As Christians, we’re told in the Bible to:

  •  look to Jesus, the author and perfector of our faith. (Hebrews 12:2)
  • repent, for the kingdom of heaven is at hand (Matthew 4:17)
  • keep watch because we do not know the day or the hour (that the Lord will return) (Matthew 25:13)

I don’t know about you, but this is a good reminder for me not to get too comfortable on this earth.

Speaking of having an eternal perspectiveI have a prayer request. A small group of women is going down to our jail tomorrow to minister to some of the female prisoners. Some of us will give our testimonies (that would be me, gulp).

Please pray that these women would be open to the gospel and that they would see Jesus, not us.  I pray that they would be encouraged in their soul by the music and the testimonies.

I know first hand that only God can completely change a life. Only He can free us from our sin.

Published in: on February 27, 2011 at 8:00 am  Leave a Comment  
Tags: , ,

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://makeminevintage.wordpress.com/2011/02/27/looking-toward-heaven/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

