Hit the Spot – the Dollar Spot, That Is

I was in Target the other day and strolled through their impulse buy section Dollar Spot when I happened upon these little gems:

I knew immediately what I wanted them for so I bought six.

Why am I so excited about these little guys?

You see, I am FOREVER either picking up my boys’ markers and pencils or I’m telling them to.

Then I had an epiphany…maybe they just need a more convenient spot to store them. 

So I set out to make it as easy as possible for them to put their markers away.

And here is what I came up with:

These little pails hang right above their school desks so in a perfect world they will return the contents when they are done using them. Only time will tell, but for a $6 investment I’m willing to try:)

Here is how I did it:

First step, remove the bows…my boys appreciate that!

Then I measured and marked three points six inches apart. I used a level so I knew they would hang straight. I hammered in these nail hooks I found in my little red tool box.

Now they each have a home for their markers and colored pencils and #2 pencils – oh my!

If I wanted to be a supermom, I would’ve taken the extra time to spray paint the pails in colors to match the letters near the ceiling and then made adorable custom labels for each pail…

…but supermom, I am not:)

Published in: on February 25, 2011 at 10:02 am  Leave a Comment  
Tags: , ,

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://makeminevintage.wordpress.com/2011/02/25/hit-the-spot-the-dollar-spot-that-is/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

