Isn’t it cute?

I’ve been working on this pillow on and off for the last week or so. It’s one of those projects that is SUPER easy, but it does take a little bit of time. Hooray for TV commercials!

You can definitely make this one yourself. It’s one of those shabby chic kind of projects and it looks even better if it’s messy.

Gotta. love. that.

First, just make a simple, no-fuss pillow.  There are a lot of great tutorials on the internet. Here’s mine. (Just skip the stenciling part:)

Or, better yet, skip making the pillow and freshen up one you already have by adding the rosettes.

I used inexpensive unbleached cotton because I’m a neutral-loving girl, but this would be lovely in virtually any fabric.

Now you can start making the rosettes. This is the time-consuming part.  But, in my humble opinion, the end result is so worth it!

Follow this tutorial from super crafty Susie B. Harris. 

Two tips:

  • I followed her directions except I twisted my fabric as I rolled it. 
  • I kept the width of the fabric strips the same, but varied the length to make some rosettes smaller and some larger.

Once you have your rosettes made, start laying them out on the pillow. Feel free to keep moving them around until you get an arrangement you like.

You could sew them on, but I cheated and used hot glue. It’s much quicker and trust me, they are hard to pull off (I tried)!

Side note: this hot glue gun was like $2 ages ago. I buy a bag of 25 glue sticks at the dollar store – for one. dollar. people. Dollar Tree, oh how I love thee! (sigh)

And here is where the pillow lives – for now at least;)

I linked this up to The Lettered Cottage’s How-To Linky Party.

Published in: on February 23, 2011 at 9:23 am  Leave a Comment  
Tags: , , , , , , , ,

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://makeminevintage.wordpress.com/2011/02/23/isnt-it-cute/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

