Theology in the Everyday

Great theology can come in the most unexpected of places. Take, for instance, the song, “Temporary Home” by Carrie Underwood.

My sister-in-law bought the song for me after my precious papa passed away last April.

I dearly loved that man.

The fact that I’m able to function at all after his passing is nothing short of the limitless grace of almighty God.

As I was updating the stuff on my mp3 player today, I stumbled upon that song.

After listening to it a couple of times, it’s been in my head all day:

This is my temporary home,

it’s not where I belong

Windows and rooms

that I’m passing through

This is just a stop

on the way to where I’m going

I’m not afraid because I know

this is my temporary home.

As I reflected on the lyrics (I told you I’m a thinker!) I asked myself this question,

“Am I too comfortable here?”

(on Earth, that is).

The life we live now is not our forever home.

The simple truth is this…if we are in Christ, this life truly is our temporary home.

“For what is your life? It is even a vapor that appears for a little time and then vanishes away.” (James 4:14b)

My challenge for you (and me) is this…

“What are you living for? the temporary? or the eternal?”

Published in: on February 20, 2011 at 8:00 am  Leave a Comment  
Tags: , , ,

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://makeminevintage.wordpress.com/2011/02/20/theology-in-the-everyday/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

