In Bloom

Good morning, all!

Today, I’d like to share with you how easy it is to force bulbs. Keep in mind this is coming from someone whose extent of plant knowledge is this:

yellow=too much water; brown= not enough

So seriously, if I can grow these, you can too!

I bought seven paperwhite bulbs on clearance at Wedell’s in January for 25 cents each. The bag of dirt was $7.

But get this, paperwhites will grow in ANYTHING. You name it – dirt, sand, rocks, pebbles  – and even plain water. I don’t know about you, but that is my kind of plant.

They started off looking like this:

And seven weeks later, they look like this:

And because I think way too much for my own good…I can’t help but see the spiritual application:

Bloom where you are planted.

What a wonderful reminder that no matter where we are in life, we can bloom. We can be beautiful and fragrant and bring joy to others simply by choosing to change and stretch and grow rather than stay the same.

Check out this tutorial from P. Allen Smith on how easy it is to grow this beautiful and heavenly-smelling plant. And bring a touch of spring to your own home-sweet-home.

http://www.pallensmith.com/index.php?id=1703&report=454&title=Paperwhites

 

Published in: on February 18, 2011 at 10:09 am  Comments (2)  
Tags: , , , ,

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://makeminevintage.wordpress.com/2011/02/18/in-bloom/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

2 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. Hey Kim,
    Just wanted to let you know that I LOVE your blog and I went out today and bought some paper white bulbs!! I plan to share some with a mutual friend of ours who could use a “cheer up”. I plan to “plant” them tomorrow with the kids during school time:). Yeah!
    Dana

    • Hi Dana – you are SO sweet! Thank you so much for the enouragement. Full disclosure, though, no other bulbs have bloomed yet! I’ve been keeping the soil moist, but not too much so, and they are near a sunny window. I still have hope that more will bloom…just wanted to let you know:)


Leave a Reply

