From Kid’s Artwork to Toy…

Both of my sons love to draw.

This is a good thing. Except when one of them wants me to SEW a toy based on something he drew.

Um, yeah.

Remember, I can only sew in a straight line on a good day:)

Not wanting to disappoint, I gave it a try.

It helped that we had a light sprinkling of snow that day, (said dripping with sarcasm).

snow in our egress window

snow piled up right outside our front door

So I took out my stash of fleece and assorted odds and ends of fabric

and came up with this…

He loves it.

And although it’s nowhere near perfect, it doesn’t have to be. It made him so happy.

And I was happy to give it to him, having made it from my own hands using what I had around the house.

I didn’t use a pattern, I just cut and stitched and stuffed until I has something somewhat resembling a cat.

Because I know one day not too far from now, neither one will ask me to make them a toy.

And the day is coming when they no longer want to hang out with dear ‘ol mom (sniff sniff).

There was only one small problem with my new creation…Jack wants one, too!

A dog this time. In orange fleece. (Note that Walmart currently has EVERY OTHER color and pattern of fleece imaginable BUT orange).

So as soon as I find some, I’m going to try my hand at making one for him.

Snow day not required.

Published in: on February 17, 2011 at 8:00 am  Comments (2)  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://makeminevintage.wordpress.com/2011/02/17/from-kids-artwork-to-toy/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

2 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. I love it! Sewing skills or not, I think you did an impressive job (and it turned out much better than I could have made it!)
    🙂

    • Hi there! Thank you so much for stopping by and for your kind words! I honestly didn’t know what I was doing and it’s so not perfect, but he likes it and so it doesn’t have to be:)


Leave a Reply

