Refresh Your Rooms: The Bathroom

After this, I still have one more room to post about in my very long, drawn out series, “Refresh Your Rooms”. (Newbie blogger, I apologize:)

Our master bathroom is the room I spent the most time in – it just needed to feel lighter and brighter.

Here is the before:

After:

  • some new wall paint – I mixed together three sample jars I had on hand, plus some white. I came up with something eerily similar to the Hopsack by Ralph Lauren color I love.
  • used spray paint to change the hideous mottled glass on the light fixture to white:

Ahh, much better.

Then I bought:

  • a new curved shower curtain rod ($20 at Aldi) to replace the old rusting tension one
  • a new shower curtain ($2.54 on clearance at Target)

  • two chenille shag rugs at Big Lots ($12 for both) – I’m lovin’ the texture!

  • a new window curtain ($10 for two at Walmart). It was too long so I just took out my handy dandy sewing machine and shortened it. The little flower is a metal clip. I picked it up at Walgreen’s years ago for a couple of bucks. I think it is supposed to be clipped onto the side of a plant pot, but I liked it here:)

  • a $3 mercury glass candle from the Target after-Christmas clearance section
  • a $2 mercury glass soap dish (from Big Lots)

The last thing I bought was a $7 bath pillow. It has suction cups on it so I can read in our very shallow bathtub. Taking a bath is my favorite way to relax. I come out a wrinkled mess, but my head is clear and the stress of the day melts away…

There is still one more thing left to do – but it is a project that will take a few hours to complete (and a little convincing on the hubby’s part!)

Here’s a hint…

The tutorial on painting cabinets is from this post at Centsational Girl. If you haven’t checked out her blog, you should. Her tagline is “Fabulous for Less” and she was just featured on the Nate Berkus show.

And if you’re interested, here is a link to our main bathroom.

Next up: office fluffing.

Published in: on January 28, 2011 at 12:52 pm  Comments (2)  
Tags: , , , , , ,

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://makeminevintage.wordpress.com/2011/01/28/refresh-your-rooms-the-bathroom/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

2 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. Absolutely lovely!

    Thanks for linking up and sharing with me!

    xoxo,
    Jen

    • Thanks for leaving a comment! And thanks, too, for making it so easy for me to get organized!


Leave a Reply

