Refresh Your Rooms: The Hallway

OK, so I know that a hallway is technically NOT a room. But mine needed refreshing so I’ll share what I did with you.

Here is the before:

Nothing wrong with these pictures at all. They were hung up shortly after we moved in nearly seven years ago. After that long, it was time for a change.

The only problem is that the builder put the thermostat smack dab in the middle of the wall. Ugh.

Note to any builders who just happen to also be into decorating blogs…please, please do not put the thermostats in the middle of the wall. Off to one side would be so much easier to decorate around, don’t ya think?

So what’s a girl to do?

The only thing I could. I decorated around it.

Here is the after:

The thermostat is still there, but hopefully, there is enough interesting things to look at around it, that you don’t notice it as much.

If this isn’t the case, be my friend and just tell me you like it, pretty please?

I bought the prints on eBay. I think I may have gotten nine of them for around $50 on two separate occasions. (One lives in the bathroom at the end of the hall).

The frames were a great deal at Michael’s. They are actually marketed as document frames, but they were just the right size for my odd-sized botanical prints. And they definitely were the right price. They were $9.99 each and were on sale for 40 percent off. Then I used another coupon from the Sunday paper and was able to get an additional 25 percent off. Jennifer from Families For Living would be very proud of me:)

I’m not very good at math. All I know is that was one great deal. Especially for a wood frame with a matte.

Hanging them on the other hand, was really a lot harder than I expected.

It probably would’ve been a whole lot easier with one of those fancy laser levels or the help of my ultra-handy husband. But alas, a football game was on and I can’t compete with that.

So after about an  hour and a half of pure frustration (and no less than 41 extra holes to patch), my wall of botanicals is complete.

Even my seven-year-old boys said, “Wow, that’s really cool, mom.”

They melt my heart, I tell ya.

Published in: on January 18, 2011 at 9:51 am  Comments (2)  
Tags: , , ,

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://makeminevintage.wordpress.com/2011/01/18/refresh-your-rooms-the-hallway/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

2 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. Well, he’s right, it looks lovely!

    • Thanks so much for stopping by and for taking the time to leave a comment. I’m going to go check out your blog:)


Leave a Reply

