Going Deeper In Your Faith

For Christmas, Tom bought me a book called, “Look Unto Me.”

It contains devotions from Charles Spurgeon, a London preacher for more than four decades in the 1800s.

I can’t tell you what a treasure this book has become to me already, challenging me in my walk with Jesus and causing me to abide in Him and meditate on the truth of scripture.

One of the points he made just stopped me cold.

“Never betray your profession of faith in Christ. Always be a person whose…conduct and conversation have such an aroma of heaven that everyone who sees you will know you belong to the Savior.”

That will get you awake and thinking first thing in the morning!

He is saying that because we belong to Christ, we should act like it. How often I must disappoint the One who died for me.

Of course, we will not (and cannot) be perfect this side of heaven. Yet we can rely on him more deeply and simply allow Him to shine His light through us in these dark and evil days.

Father God, thank you for the important reminder that I belong to You. Help me to love and honor You every day so that others will know I belong to You.

Published in: on January 16, 2011 at 8:00 am  Comments (4)  
Tags:

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://makeminevintage.wordpress.com/2011/01/16/going-deeper-in-your-faith/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

4 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. That is wonderful to read frist thing in the morning and I pray the same- to have that heavenly aroma about me that everyone will know

    • Hi there! I’m glad to know it encouraged you as much as it did me. I fail more times than I can count, but thankfully, God is in the business of forgiveness:)

  2. You seem like the tyoe of person to know who Jason Evert is. Know him? He’s one of the best chastity speakers out there.

    • Actually, I haven’t heard of him, but I’m off to look him up online.

      Thanks for stopping by my blog and for taking the time to leave me a comment:)


Leave a Reply

