Refresh Your Rooms – The Master Bedroom

In my opinion, your master bedroom should be for two things only: sleeping and romance. This means everything that doesn’t fit into one of those two categories has got to go.

Children’s toys, work projects, the dreaded treadmill-turned-clothes-hanger, etc., etc., etc. Gather up all of it and put it somewhere else until you have time to go through it.

Side note: my secret system for getting rid of stuff…go from room to room and take out everything you don’t love or use and pack it in boxes in the basement (or garage or spare bedroom).

Eventually, you will have every room cleaned out – and a very full basement! But that way you only have to tackle one area and not a whole house. And because I had already packed up everything into boxes, it was really easy to load up the car and drop them off at Goodwill.  I felt a whole lot lighter, too.

On to the bedroom, easy ways to refresh:

Switch it. Change it. Rearrange it.

Since this room already had new(ish) bedding, I really didn’t have to do a lot to it. I moved the round mirror  ($5 at Goodwill, spray painted white) from its old place above the bed to the wall behind my nightstand.  I hung it off-center on purpose to make it a bit more interesting.

My nightstand is now simple and free of clutter. All that’s on it is a Christmas cactus from my dear husband (I’m so not a green thumb!) that I put in a mercury glass vase I bought at TJ Maxx for $6, a lamp and an alarm clock.

Here is a close up of the vase because I just love the texture:

There is a basket underneath the nightstand that I bought for $3 at Michael’s after Christmas. It had some green fabric and was embroidered with a holiday message. No worries. I just took off the liner and now I have a new place to put the books I’m currently reading.

Personalize. Romanticize.

Since this is a space devoted to you as a couple, put something in here that honors your relationship.

In our case, I framed the Bible verse that was used at our wedding. It says:

“Love bears all things, believes all things, hopes all things, endures all things. Love never fails.” 1 Cor. 13:7-8a

A simple “matte” of coordinating scrapbook paper and a painted black frame hung low over the bed is a great reminder to both of us.

Have a seat.

If you have the space, consider adding a place to sit other than the bed. In this room, there was a somewhat awkward corner needed a little something. The answer? My favorite chair in which I slipcovered all by myself.

Now this corner has a purpose all its own…a dressing area. (Pretend with me for a moment that the empty frame is holding a mirror, ok? Oh and while we are pretending, pretend that I’ve painted the legs on the chair black – haven’t gotten around to it yet!)

Make your things functional and beautiful.

This dresser has been with me ever since I moved into my first apartment – a tiny little studio. It was destined to be put on the curb and I rescued it. Since then, my husband has claimed it as his own.

He tends to be a little bit, well, messy. I figured if I couldn’t conquer his clutter, at least I could contain it.

My solution? I put a small dish on top for him to empty the contents of his pockets every night. Needless to say, the small dish has grown over the years to a large platter. I don’t touch it. I am a Felix, he is an Oscar — and we’re OK with that!

“It’s curtains for you!”

Those curtains are not really curtains. They’re sheets. Twin sheets to be exact. From Walmart. Four dollars each for the twin size. I hung them with those handy dandy clip rings. It took no time at all and only cost me $8. ‘Cuz that’s how I roll.

So there you have it. Some creative, low cost ways to breathe new life into your master bedroom. Sweet dreams!

Come back on Monday where I’ll show you how to freshen up your family room for not a lot of money.

PS If you like this series, here are some other posts you might like:

Published in: on January 8, 2011 at 9:47 pm  Leave a Comment  
Tags: , ,

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://makeminevintage.wordpress.com/2011/01/08/refresh-your-rooms-the-master-bedroom/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

