Eliminate and Concentrate

 
My new mantra for 2011 is this: eliminate and concentrate.

Allow me to explain.

Life is busy. (Shocking, I know. Is there anyone on the planet that ISN’T busy?)

It seems as if everyone is telling us to say “no”, simplify, declutter, get organized, get out of debt, save more money, lose weight, exercise more, eat better, spend more time with family, spend less time at work, more time with God, etc., etc., etc.

With all of the noise and chatter that has been generated on these well-covered topics, why are we all still struggling?

Or is it just me?

I’ve been pondering that thought for quite a while. Although I don’t seem to have the answer yet, I think I might just be getting close.

We do too much. We want too much. Not only do we want more stuff, we want it better and faster and cheaper. And then we never sit down to enjoy what we already have.

We are bombarded every.single.minute.of every.single.day with messages that claim to have a quick and simple solution to every “problem” imaginable.

But we’re no better off.

We want quick and easy solutions and we want them NOW. But we don’t want to pay for them – and we don’t want to work for them either. Myself included.

Ouch.

So this is my conclusion: you have to work really hard at keeping things simple.

What does this mean for me? It means I’m going to eliminate all the unnecessary “stuff” in my life, so I can really enjoy it more.

And this goes much deeper than cleaning out a closet. This is about getting rid of all the mental clutter and noise in my head so I can focus on what God has called me to be in this season of my life: a wife and a mom.

What do you think? Is there something you need to eliminate in your life to make room for something far more important?

Published in: on December 30, 2010 at 10:56 am  Leave a Comment  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://makeminevintage.wordpress.com/2010/12/30/eliminate-and-concentrate/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

