Do You Make New Year’s Resolutions?

I usually do.

Mine are popular, though completely unoriginal:

  • get organized
  • eat better
  • exercise more
  • save more money
  • spend more time with my family
  • read my Bible every day

But here’s the thing. I’ve had the same set of resolutions for the last 11 years. I only wish I was kidding.

I do great for a while. Then I mess up. And then I give up.

This year will be different.

I’m going to have a plan. Then I’m going to set aside some time so I can actually accomplish something on my list.

And I won’t try to do everything at once. That has been my biggest downfall.

When I try to change everything, I change nothing.

So, I’ll work on one thing every month. By the end of 2011, I will have 12 new habits that work for me, not against me.

I’ve already started making small changes to my eating habits and that is going well.

The key to winning at change is to make up your mind and then stick to it. But you have to have a plan or it won’t work.

Sir Walter Scott once said, “I can give you a six word formula for success: Think things through-then follow through.”

And that is exactly what I’m going to do.

I’ll post my plan in a couple of days. Anyone is welcome to join me (hint hint).

Published in: on December 28, 2010 at 1:48 pm  Comments (1)  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://makeminevintage.wordpress.com/2010/12/28/do-you-make-new-years-resolutions/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

One CommentLeave a comment

  1. […] Is Served After yesterday’s thought-provoking post, I thought I should write about something more light-hearted […]


Leave a Reply

