Cranberry Nut Bread: To Give or To Keep

My husband begs me to make this fresh cranberry bread every year. Little does he know it’s so easy to make and turns out perfectly every time. It’s a quick bread, which means there is no yeast involved and it takes a lot less time to make.

This recipe bakes up beautifully and has a delicious flavor. I’ve given it to clients, made it for coworkers and neighbors and kept some for us as well.

I hope you enjoy it as much as we enjoy making (and eating) it!

Cranberry Nut Bread

2 C flour

1 C sugar

1 1/2 tsp baking powder

1 tsp salt

1/2 tsp baking soda

3/4 C orange juice

1 T grated orange peel

2 T shortening (applesauce or butter also work well)

1 egg, beaten

1 1/2 C fresh or frozen cranberries, coarsely chopped

1/2 C walnuts or pecans

Preheat oven to 350 degrees. In a bowl, mix together dry ingredients. Stir in orange juice, orange peel, shortening and egg. Mix until well blended. Stir in cranberries and nuts. Turn into a 9 x 5-inch loaf pan sprayed with Pam for Baking.

Bake for 55 minutes or until a toothpick comes out clean. Cool on a rack for 15 minutes and remove from the pan.

There are a couple of ways to present the bread. Usually, I wrap it with clear plastic wrap and tie it up with a pretty ribbon. Then I either tie a spring of evergreen (from our tree), a small ornament or both along with the recipe.

This year, instead of plastic wrap, I’m going to use parchment paper and wrap it up just like I’d wrap a present.

One of the things I like the best about giving homemade treats is that the time you spent making them is part of the gift.

I also try to pray for the person who will receive the gift as I’m making it. Because prayer is the best gift of all.

Published in: on December 21, 2010 at 9:46 am  Comments (1)  
Tags: , , , , , ,

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://makeminevintage.wordpress.com/2010/12/21/cranberry-nut-bread-to-give-or-to-keep/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

One CommentLeave a comment

  1. […] Homemade bread – I gave our neighbors a fresh-from-the-oven loaf of banana bread that I baked in my bundt pan. This was a thank you to them for snowblowing our sidewalks in subzero weather, so I wanted to make the presentation extra special. I put the bread on a large round serving platter I found at Goodwill for $3 and wrapped it in plastic wrap. Then I taped a bow, a sprig of evergreen from our tree and a handwritten note saying that they could keep the platter to the package. Months later she still thanked me for the delicious bread and asked for the recipe. I also have a delicious recipe for cranberry nut quick bread. […]


Leave a Reply

