My Christmas Mantle

My mantle has never seen this much action before! Usually I get it decorated the way I like it and then leave it alone for months.

Not even close this year.

In the past eight weeks, it’s been both spooky and thankful. Now it’s full of peace.

I have to admit, I didn’t come up with the idea for this mantle on my own. In fact, I shamelessly stole was inspired by the beautiful photos from the December 2010 issue of Country Living magazine.

Seldom does a decorating article fully express my style. This one nailed it. We’re talkin’ swish – nothing but net.

Since I received the issue in the mail, I’ve been busy trying to replicate the look for very little money.

I think I might’ve come close.

Here is my couch:

And here is my entryway:

Instead of the mirror that usually hangs there, I made an advent calendar to count down the days until Christmas.

Sadly, this too, is not an original idea. It’s a knockoff of a knockoff. Pottery Barn did it first and then Katie from Bower Power recreated the look last year.

During the after Christmas sales, I bought some miniature ornaments that were on clearance from Hobby Lobby. I didn’t have enough for 25 different ones, so I used what I had on hand.

I think it’s a festive way to greet guests and celebrate the true meaning of the season.

What do you think? Do you try to recreate looks you’ve seen in magazines? I hope this inspires you as much as it did me.

Just for fun, I’m linking up to the mantle party over at The Lettered Cottage.

Published in: on December 1, 2010 at 7:27 pm  Comments (1)  
Tags: , ,

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://makeminevintage.wordpress.com/2010/12/01/my-christmas-mantle/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

One CommentLeave a comment

  1. […] the house:  Christmas mantle, pillows, entryway, advent calendar and handmade […]


Leave a Reply

