What Christmas Isn’t

Christmas isn’t:

  • spending money you don’t have buying gifts people really don’t need that will more than likely be regifted or donated to Goodwill in January anyway
  • decorating the tree
  • making Christmas cookies
  • going to parties with friends
  • helping your kids make presents for grandma and grandpa
  • watching classic Christmas movies
  • hanging thousands of lights on your house
  • addressing 50 or more Christmas cards and grumbling the entire time
  • spending time with family
  • giving to the needy
  • pictures with and letters to Santa
  • candlelight church services on Christmas Eve

Those aren’t all bad things – in fact, most of them are quite good. And I’m not saying that you shouldn’t partake in some of the fun of the season. But it’s all too easy to get caught up in the world’s definition of Christmas.

If you are a true Christian, I implore you to be different. Different enough so that people will take notice and ask you questions.

Celebrate the true meaning of CHRISTmas – Jesus!

He is the reason we celebrate. God sent his one and only Son, Jesus, to be born from a young virgin girl named Mary. Jesus was and is the only hope of eternal life in heaven for this lost and hurting world.

Peace with God is only possible through Jesus’ wonderful sacrifice on the cross more than two thousand years ago.

When I was a little girl, I dreaded Christmas. Christmas to me meant a mountain of presents that I didn’t want and surely didn’t need. All those presents were a cruel reminder that I had every toy imaginable, but no one to play with.

I had heard the Christmas story many, many times as a child. Mostly through the church I was sent to or even listening to Linus while watching A Charlie Brown Christmas on our tiny TV.

It wasn’t until I was an adult that I realized all the focus on food, decorating, presents, traditions, family and friends completely crowds out our precious and wonderful Savior.

Just yesterday as I was walking through Menard’s Christmas section, I couldn’t help but wonder what God must think of the singing disco snowman (I’m not kidding) amidst the rows and rows of Christmas ornaments, lights and inflatable Santas?

As Christmas approaches, I have to remind myself that everything I do should please Christ, not men (or women).

Colossians 3:23-24 says, “And whatever you do, do it heartily, as to the Lord and not to men, knowing that from the Lord you will receive the reward of the inheritance; for you serve the Lord Christ.”

Does that mean I won’t do some of the things on the list I mentioned at the beginning? No. It just means that before I do something I will ask myself the question, “Will this honor You, Lord?”

If the answer is “yes”, then I’ll do it. If the answer is “no”, then I won’t. As a believer in Christ, it’s a question I need to ask myself every day of the year, not just at Christmas.

Heavenly Father, please help me remember your most precious gift of all –  Jesus. Help me to remember to honor You in everything I do at all times, but especially during the busyness this time of year. Give me the desire to focus on the lost and the poor who are all around. And give me the courage to be different and shine only for You. In Jesus name, Amen.

Does anyone want to join me in my quest for a simple, more meaningful Christmas? Anyone?

Published in: on November 29, 2010 at 9:00 am  Comments (2)  
Tags: , , , , ,

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://makeminevintage.wordpress.com/2010/11/29/what-christmas-isnt/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

2 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. […] I think it’s a festive way to greet guests and celebrate the true meaning of the season. […]

  2. […] Reflections: a Christmas memory and what Christmas isn’t […]


Leave a Reply

