Frugal Finds – November 2010

I’m a bargain hunter, no question. But let me define “bargain”.

Kmart once had a commercial a few years ago that said, “It’s only a bargain if you still want it when you get home.” So. Very. True.

I’ve learned this lesson the hard way after bringing home things because they were such a good deal, only to find myself donating those very same items a few months later.

So now I don’t bring anything home unless I absolutely love it. I mean really LOVE it. Like “I-love-it-so-much-I-would-pay-full-price-for-it” love it. And let me add that there are VERY FEW things I would honestly pay full price for.

This philosophy has greatly reduced the amount of things I bring into my home. It’s also reduced the amount of money I spend (I do shop often, but I only spend a few dollars. But, a few dollars here, a few dollars there, adds up).

Having said all that, here a few of the things I picked up at my local thrift store this month:

white canister, $1

silver beaded garland, $0.50

two vintage bowling pins, $3.50 each

vintage Christmas ornament, $0.50

black peep-toe heels, like new $3

Right about now, you might be asking, “What on earth is she going to do with two bowling pins?” Good question. They are, in fact, gracing one of the shelves on a  large bookshelf wall unit as we speak.

I almost didn’t buy them because I could just envision my two seven-year-old boys using them as clubs to beat each other over the head with.

They haven’t thought of that. Yet. But give them time and I’m sure that at least one of them will come up with the idea.

After all, that’s what health insurance is for, right?

Published in: on November 24, 2010 at 6:21 pm  Comments (1)  
Tags: ,

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://makeminevintage.wordpress.com/2010/11/24/frugal-finds-november-2010/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

One CommentLeave a comment

  1. I love a great bargain too, I love to shop, especially those thrift stores where I can score on great buys! My blog is mainly in Spanish, but I have some videos in English to share. If you know of anyone that speaks Spanish send them over. Thanks for sharing!


Leave a Reply

