Thoughts on Thankfulness

When I see this…

…instead of begrudgingly making the bed, I should be thankful I have a roof over my head and a warm bed to sleep in.

When I see this…

…instead of complaining about all the dishes I have to do, I should be thankful I have plenty to eat.

When I see this…

…instead of yelling at the kids to pick up their toys for tenth time, I should be thankful I have two active and healthy sons. 

When I see this…

…instead of grumbling about how much laundry there is to do, I should be thankful I have a washing machine and dryer in my house to get them clean.

When I look at this…

…I’m thankful that as a child of God, I don’t have to be perfect. If I was perfect, I wouldn’t need Jesus. He is completely perfect so I don’t have to be. 

Lord Jesus, please give me a heart of pure gratitude so that I can be thankful amidst for the work that you have given me to do as a wife and mother. Help me never to take for granted all of the many blessings you’ve lavished on every single one of us in this country. Give me a burden for the poor and the lost in this world.

A we approach the Thanksgiving holiday, ask yourself, “What am I thankful for?” Then take some time to express your gratitude to God.

 “In everything give thanks.” (1 Thes. 5:18)

Published in: on November 21, 2010 at 1:42 pm  Leave a Comment  
Tags: , , , , ,

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://makeminevintage.wordpress.com/2010/11/21/thoughts-on-thankfulness/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

