A Few of My Favorite Things

Melissa at 320 Sycamore is having a ‘My Favorite Things’ party that I’m linking to.

Here is a very short list of the stuff I can’t live without.

Fountain Coke from McDonald’s

I’m not sure what is in there, but it’s good. TOO good, in fact. And it’s only a buck. I’m an addict, I admit it. My friends and I bond over Coke. One of my friends calls it her “dark master” (try to put that in an ad campaign!), while my best friend and I wouldn’t even dare show up at the other’s house without a tall icy Coke in hand. Oh yeah, I’m lovin’ it.

PUR Minerals 4 in 1 pressed mineral makeup SPF 15 in porcelain

I tend to breakout on my chin and this completely covers it up. It also doesn’t turn orange-y on my fair complexion like so many other foundations I’ve tried. It’s pricey for me at $25, but lasts a long time and has fabulous coverage, not only as a foundation, but also a concealer. I won’t go get the mail without it!

John Freida Frizz Ease Secret Weapon Flawless Finishing Creme

Although my hair is straight, it tends to have a mind of its own. Just a pea size amount of this product makes my hair shiny and smoothes down the fly-aways. This too, lasts forever.

Glamourous perfume by Ralph Lauren

Love, Love, LOVE this scent. I went back to Kohl’s to buy another bottle and found out that it was discontinued. If I would’ve known, I would’ve bought four more bottles of it. I searched online, but all that’s sold in the states is the .25 trial size ounce. I keep my empty bottle because I can still get a faint whiff of it every once in a while. Seriously Ralph, please bring it back. I know I’m not the only one who liked it!

My vintage red bicycle

I found it a church rummage sale the day after my beloved papa was buried. My husband gave me some extra time to just drive around and I ended up there. I’m glad I did because when I ride it aound our neighborhood, I feel like a kid again.

Big, chunky statement necklaces (the chunkier, the better)

I have this one from Simply Vera, Vera Wang. (I’m wearing it right now, in fact). It’s especially versatile. I’ve even been known to layer another necklace over it, keeping the rest of my outfit monochromatic with a neutral like charcoal gray.

Shabby Chic Bedding from Target

Swoon…I bought mine on ebay and got a great deal.

Hopsack by Ralph Lauren paint

It’s a great neutral, soothing taupe and it looks great in our bedroom with my Shabby Chic bedding.

Desperation Dinners cookbook

Everything can be made from start to finish in 20 minutes or less. No special equipment or exotic ingredients (juniper berries, anyone?) are required. This is one of the first things I would replace if my house burned down to the ground (once I had a kitchen again, that is).

This is actually THE first thing I would replace if I lost everything. (It should’ve been mentioned first, actually).

My Charles Stanley Life Principles Bible

My husband bought this for me for Christmas two years ago. I left it at church one Sunday (and didn’t put my name on it). It was lost for three months while I kept praying and checking the lost and found. I used another Bible I had in the meantime, but it just wasn’t the same. I finally broke down and bought another one. You know what happened next – a week later mine found its way back to me. That’s ok though, because I had an extra I could give away. God is so good.

Head on over to 320 Sycamore (named for the house in the movie It’s A Wonderful Life) and link up for a chance to win a great giveaway.

Published in: on November 21, 2010 at 3:01 pm  Comments (4)  
Tags: , , , ,

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://makeminevintage.wordpress.com/2010/11/21/a-few-of-my-favorite-things/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

4 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. I love that necklace and am currently on the hunt for chunky ones. and I am sucker for those Mcd fountian diet cokes.

    • Hi there, thank you so much for leaving me a comment! FYI – I just scored a multi-stand set of long pearls with a big black flower on them from JC Penney. It was on deep clearance for $12 so I snatched it up. I totally believe it’s the accessories that make the outfit.

      And thanks for letting me know about your MCD diet coke fetish. I knew I couldn’t be the only one!

  2. I LOVE that red bike! What a find! I love chunky necklaces as well. I will have to check out that cookbook~thanks so much for joining the party!

    • Hi there – thanks so much for commenting! I love your blog. Your ideas are great and I esp. love your sense of humor, i.e., the tutorial on how high to hang a shelf! I laughed out loud!

      I’m a new blogger and didn’t even realize I could reply. Ahhh, so much to learn…

      Just wanted to thank you for recommending the book, “We had everything but money”. I LOVE it. I’ve had it less than a week and have read every word. I was raised by my grandparents who were both born around that time. It was so nice to learn more about what it was like to grow up in that era. Sadly, they are both gone now, but those stories gave me insights as to what their early lives might’ve been like.


Leave a Reply

