Welcome Your Guests With a Fall Wreath

I saw this idea at Nesting Place and fell. in. love. The nester gives complete instructions here, but this is really simple to make.

Essentially, you buy two grapevine wreaths from a craft store, one larger than the other. (Though they are inexpensive to begin with, you might want to wait until they are half off. I’m kindof frugal like that).

Wire them together in a couple of places with floral wire. If you don’t have any floral wire, cable ties work well. Just trim the ends off so they don’t stick out. (Sounds complicated, I know, but it’s really quick and easy).

Then start stuffing things like berries, grapes, leaves and flower pics from the dollar store or a craft store into the vines. I used mostly what I had on hand from another wreath I already owned, but I did buy the green flowers and wheat-looking things at the dollar store.

Tie a large letter to the wreath with ribbon. Both the ribbon and the letter were half off at Hobby Lobby last year.

All that’s left to do is hang it on a wreath hanger. You can usually find those at the dollar stores this time of year. I actually found this one at a church rummage sale for 10 cents. Yea, I know.

For Christmas, I’m going to take out the grapes and flowers and insert evergreen scraps from the real tree we get every year, along with pics of berry sprigs and maybe even a few small ornaments.

The great thing about this wreath is that you can take the basic idea and customize it for any season.

I’m mostly a one-color with a few tonal variations, neutral type of girl when it comes to decorating, but feel free to get creative with this one.

It makes me smile every time I come back from checking the mailbox.

I linked this post up to Rhoda’s Door Decor Fall Linky Party at Southern Hospitality.

Published in: on November 17, 2010 at 8:25 am  Leave a Comment  
Tags: , ,

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://makeminevintage.wordpress.com/2010/11/17/welcome-your-guests-with-a-fall-wreath/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

