Thoughts on Home

What comes to mind when you think about your home?

Here’s what came to my mind: 

simple

welcoming

calm

warm

laughter

order

peace

That is what I want to think about my home.

And now back to reality.

With a family of two young boys and subjects to teach, housework to finish, yard work to do, meals to plan and prepare, dishes to clean and put away and laundry – oh please don’t get me started on the mountains of laundry – my list reads more like this:

disorganized

chaotic

frustrating

zoo-like

When I get discouraged, I have to keep reminding myself that our homes are meant for one thing:

LIVING.

If you want your house to look like a spread in a decorating magazine all the time, it is possible.

But I ask you, is it worth it?

For me, the answer is a resounding “NO”.

And that is part of the fun. That’s right, embrace the chaos.

Managing a home is hard work, but it’s also what you make it. If you look at mothering and housework as drudgery, that’s exactly what it will be.

On the other hand, if you look at it as an adventure – a puzzle of sorts – in this very messy thing called life – than that is what it will be.

Like most things in life, the key is in moderation. Make things special, but keep it simple.

Don’t let the thing you’re doing become more important than the people you’re doing it for.

That means I shouldn’t put all my time and effort into making a nice meal to nourish my family, only to yell at one or both of my sons when they spill a full glass of milk. All over the table. And all over the floor. Again.

That means I should care more about making memories than worrying about cleaning up the messes that inevitably come with them. (Pumpkin carving and decorating cupcakes with sprinkles immediately come to mind).

I tell myself that this is only one season in my life. Someday when my kids are all grown and have families of their own, I don’t want to look back and think, “I kept a perfectly clean and organized house”. Instead, I want to look back and think, “With God’s help, I raised two godly gentleman in this house.”

That to me is worth so much more than having a magazine-worthy house.

Published in: on November 16, 2010 at 10:21 am  Leave a Comment  
Tags: , , , , , , ,

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://makeminevintage.wordpress.com/2010/11/16/thoughts-on-home-2/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

