A Simple Thanksgiving Mantel

Do you decorate for the different seasons?

Typically, I don’t. I did have a close friend that decorated for every holiday. EVERY holiday. Not just the big ones like Christmas, Thanksgiving and Easter – but the Valentine’s Day? the Fourth of July?  National Talk Like A Pirate Day?! (It’s seriously a holiday – go look it up).

Me, not so much.

I do, however, love fall. And I really love to decorate. So here’s what I came up with using (mostly) what I had on hand already:

The frame was a fake orange-brass color that held a full length portrait of me when I was eight. It hung up in my papa’s house for nearly three decades and was really dusty. I dusted it off, took the picture out and spray painted it white.

Here is a close up of the garland:

It simply says, “Give Thanks”. I love it because I often need to be reminded to be grateful for all God has given us. The sheer fact that we are alive and breathing is only by His grace. Everything else is just icing on the cake.

The matching glass candle holders were purchased for $30 each when we built the house seven years ago, well before my days of frugalness. (No worries, though, I was still a vintage-loving girl back then).

The silver candle holder is one of a pair that I got from Goodwill for $4. I took a picture just in case you didn’t believe me:

To make it a bit more festive, I hot glued some leaves from a $3 candle ring from Michael’s ($3.99 minus 25% off).

I realize it looks more Christmas than Thanksgiving, but I like it so it’s staying:)

The flower picture and little bird candle are from Dollar Tree. The brown metal place is from Hobby Lobby’s 80% off clearance table.

The only things I bought were the package of the paper key tags to make the garland and the candle ring to embellish the candle holder. Other than that, I used what I already had – a very vintage idea.

Are you going to/have you already decorated for fall? If so, I’d love to hear about it.

Published in: on November 12, 2010 at 5:26 pm  Comments (1)  
Tags: , , , ,

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://makeminevintage.wordpress.com/2010/11/12/a-simple-thanksgiving-mantel/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

One CommentLeave a comment

  1. […] the past eight weeks, it’s been both spooky and thankful. Now it’s full of […]


Leave a Reply

