Before and After: Tall Cane-back Chairs

When I went to Goodwill for their Super Saturday sale last month, I had my eye out for a chair for my office.

I’m currently using the stool I had at my vanity table when I was a little girl. I love it, except that the curly-ques in the back always get stuck in the pockets of my jeans. That means whenever I try to stand up, the chair comes with me. NOT a good look:)

So imagine my delight when I stumbled upon this tall cane-back chair. And to think they didn’t even charge extra for the cobwebs that came with it!

Just so you can truly appreciate the beauty of this vintage 60’s (?) fabric, here’s a close up:

When I saw that there were actually TWO chairs and they were marked $9.99 each, I got giddy. With the 50% off discount that day, I was able to get both chairs for $10. Not too shabby. (Well, they are now, but not for long!)

Now I realize some of you are thinking, “no way would I bring those things into my house.” Well, me neither. At least not until I give them a little makeover.

All it took was some white spray paint and $6 worth of upholstery fabric from Walmart to give these guys a new lease on life. Here is one of the chairs in my office (yes, I blog in a closet):

Here she is up close, after I did a bit of distressing with some 100 grit sandpaper:

And now when I get up from the computer, I no longer take my chair with me!

Whaddya think?

I linked up to Frugal Friday at The Shabby Nest and How-To’s Day at The Lettered Cottage.

Published in: on November 11, 2010 at 3:55 pm  Comments (2)  
Tags: , ,

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://makeminevintage.wordpress.com/2010/11/11/before-and-after-tall-cane-back-chairs/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

2 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. This is awesome!!! You’re so talented. I think I need to call you about something that I have that needs to be spray painted. You’re so good at it. Whenever I do it it just runs (and yes, I stand far enough back 🙂 ). Great Job Kim!

    • You are so sweet! I do love me some spray paint:) I’m a bit of a spray paint conisuer these days. My favorite brand is Rustoleum Painter’s Touch because it’s thicker, gives twice the coverage in just one coat and doesn’t seem to run as much as some of the other brands. I think my other best trick is to remember that paint is like nailpolish – two thin coats are SO much better than one thick coat.

      Let me know when you want to make something over and I’m your girl!!


Leave a Reply

