My Sunday Best…All Thrifted

When I was a kid, my parents sent me to church with an elderly woman I thought was my grandmother. And no one ever corrected me when I called her “grandma Onalee”.

A mom would get me ready for church, she always told me to wear my “Sunday best”. That meant no pants, or “slacks” as my mom would say. 

Even though the church our family now attends is very casual, I admit I still like to dress up on Sundays. (Although every once in a while I’ve been known to wear some nice dark jeans. Shhh! don’t tell my mother).

So here is what I wore yesterday – all of it came from Goodwill or a thrift store.

jacket, Banana Republic, $3, Goodwill’s half off sale

shirt, Anne Klein, $4, local thrift store

wool skirt, Banana Republic, $7, local thrift store

purse, $2, Goodwill

shoes, Highlights (never worn), $5, Goodwill

necklace, $3 target clearance (I think)

That means my entire outfit came to $24.

Even my pantyhose came from the dollar store, so I guess that makes $25. (Side note: I went it on Saturday to fill some shoeboxes for a children’s Christmas ministry we support and was shocked to find my favorite brand of pantyhose there. I bought 10 pairs – 8 in “beige mist” and 2 in “midnight black”. Being a stay at home mom, they will last me a long time)!

So why did I just tell you that I basically dress from Goodwill? Because I firmly believe that you don’t have to spend a lot of money to look nice.

Now, did I get everything in one trip? Hardly. I made several trips to thrift stores over the last few months. Sometimes I walked out with a few great things and sometimes I walked out with nothing. It’s a different store every day and you never know what you are going to find.

In times like these, we need to save every penny we can. Saving on clothing and things for our home enables us to spend money on other things.  This means we can take our boys to Jungle Joe’s, a local inflatable bouncing place, once in a while or my husband and I can get a sitter and go on an actual date:)

Do you ever shop at thrift stores?

Published in: on November 9, 2010 at 10:34 am  Comments (1)  
Tags: ,

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://makeminevintage.wordpress.com/2010/11/09/my-sunday-best-all-thrifted/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

One CommentLeave a comment

  1. Yes! All the time! I enjoy your posts!


Leave a Reply

