“Chooclit” Cake

My son asked me to make “chooclit” cake to celebrate his spiritual birthday.

So I just adapted the recipe for my favorite chocolate cupcakes from one of my favorite cookbooks, “Cupcakes from the Cake Mix Doctor” by Anne Byrn. Love, love that woman.

Brooklyn Blackout Cake

1 pkg dark chocolate fudge cake mix

3 T cocoa powder

1 1/2 C buttermilk

1/2 C vegetable oil

3 large eggs

1 tsp vanilla extract

Mix together all ingredients in a large mixing bowl until smooth. You can use an electric mixer or the more vintage option: a wire whisk and a bit of muscle:)

Pour the batter into two cake pans sprayed with Pam for Baking. (It works really well and is so worth the $3 price tag). Bake the cake according to the directions on the package and let cool.

Meanwhile, make the frosting.

Chocolate Buttercream Frosting

1/2 C cocoa (I use Hershey’s Special Dark)

1 (16 oz) pkg confectioner’s sugar

6 T butter or margarine, softened

4-5 T milk or water (I used more to thin it out and make it easier to spread)

1 tsp vanilla extract

In a small bowl, stir together cocoa and confectioner’s sugar.

In a small mixer bowl, beat butter with 1/2 cup of cocoa mixture and blend well. Alternately add remaining cocoa mixture with milk, until you reach desired spreading consistency. Blend in vanilla extract.

Frost the cooled cake. Use a large spoon to make yummy swirls of the rich chocolate frosting.  I frost between the layers first, then the sides and finally the top, but there is no wrong way to frost a cake!

I followed this bunting tutorial to decorate the cake. To make it, all you need is:

  • a little bit of fabric (I used two fat quarters from Walmart, $1 each)
  • two skewers (which I dug out from my “Summer” container, now packed away in the basement, sniff sniff)
  • scissors
  • a glue stick

It’s simple, but oh so cute. My husband was even impressed, which is a serious compliment.

Oh, and the cake was delicious!

Published in: on November 5, 2010 at 9:50 am  Comments (1)  
Tags: , , ,

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://makeminevintage.wordpress.com/2010/11/05/chooclit-cake/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

One CommentLeave a comment

  1. […] made a “chooclit” cake for him. Shhh…it starts with a mix, but I made the frosting from […]


Leave a Reply

