Celebrating a Spiritual Birthday

Note to the three people who read this blog: this post is long.

My eldest son (by 10 minutes!) prayed to received Jesus in his heart two years ago, on November 4, 2008. I remember that moment so well.

We were running a bit behind for school that morning, when he started asking me questions about spiritual things. Pretty deep stuff, actually. I honestly was more concerned with getting his socks and shoes on than with answering them. (Insert guilt here).

Then it hit me that this could be THE moment. The one where the Holy Spirit was impressing on my little guy’s heart his need for a Savior. By the sheer grace of God, I realized that it was way more important for me to listen to him, than to ruin his perfect “on time” streak at school.

So I stopped tying his shoes, sat him on my lap and gave him my full attention.

He said, “I want Jesus to take the darkness out of my heart”. There is so much theology in those few little words. I was excited and scared all at the same time.

You see, my husband and I had prayed that our sons would come to know Jesus as their Lord and Savior. But we also didn’t want them to just arbitrarily adopt our faith. We wanted each of our children to come to that decision on their very own.

Then I started asking him questions to make sure his simple faith was real. Because he wasn’t just parroting back our words, I knew it was.

So right then and there, he prayed to Jesus to come and take the darkness out of his heart.

At that very instant, all the angels in heaven were having a party in honor of my son.

How do I know this? Luke 15:10 says, “In the same way, I tell you, there is rejoicing in the presence of the angels of God over one sinner who repents.” Praise you, heavenly Father!

So we started a family tradition of celebrating his spiritual birthday. It’s honestly nothing grand. But it is meaningful.

He gets to choose the dinner menu that night and I make him a cake of his choosing.

Here is what he chose:

For those of you who can’t read his second grade phonetic spelling, this is what he requested:

  • hot dogs
  • chooclit cake (chocolate cake)
  • tmados (tomatoes)
  • smilley fas franch fris (smiley face french fries)
  • tost (toast)
  • rot bere (root beer)

Please no jokes about the fact that I homeschool!

I made a “chooclit” cake for him. Shhh…it starts with a mix, but I made the frosting from scratch.

Then my husband carefully selects one special present chosen to enhance our son’s walk with Jesus.

This year, his present was a book.

It’s a great story about a boy named Herbert that – you guessed it – does everything halfway.

Our prayer for our precious son is that he would, “Love the LORD your God with all your heart and with all your soul and with all your strength” (Deuteronomy 6:5).

By God’s grace and through the humble and fervent prayers of his parents, he will.

Do you celebrate spiritual birthdays? If so, how?

Published in: on November 5, 2010 at 10:09 am  Leave a Comment  
Tags: , , , ,

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://makeminevintage.wordpress.com/2010/11/05/celebrating-a-spiritual-birthday/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

