Before and After: The End Table

I was given two end tables. They were in great shape – solid wood with claw feet. The only problem was that I didn’t like the color of the wood. So I painted one of them. Black. With spray paint.

Here is the before:

This one still looks like this. My husband claimed it for his office, mostly I think, to rescue it from my can of black spray paint.

And here is the after:

This end table now proudly resides in our living room, where it works so much better with all of our other furniture.

Now in my defense, I wouldn’t even dream of painting a family heirloom or a true antique. This piece was neither. I painted it because we needed an end table to set a book or a glass of iced tea on and this was the perfect size.

After I painted it, I took some 100 grit sandpaper and sanded down the edges to distress it a bit and let some of the original wood peek through.

To me, black furniture just gives this entire room a richer, more sophisticated touch.

And even my husband admitted he liked it.

Published in: on November 3, 2010 at 2:19 pm  Comments (2)  
Tags: , , ,

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://makeminevintage.wordpress.com/2010/11/03/before-and-after-the-end-table/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

2 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. I love this..so much prettier in black than before! I’m planning to do this to a wood framed sofa (the kind with loose cushions, orange upholstery…ugh-leee). Thanks for the inspiration!

    • Thanks so much for the compliment! I, too, think it looks better in black, but my husband is not convinced…he is actually hiding the matching end table to protect it from my paintbrush!! Thanks for stopping by and good luck with your sofa project!


Leave a Reply

