The Chalkboard Wall

I admit I’ve been in love with chalkboards for quite some time now. They are both nostalgic and practical, which is probably why.

I have two chalkboards already in my house – one we use for our homeschool lessons and on the other we write a Bible verse that as a family we’re trying to commit to memory.

The problem is that they are both too small (or maybe I just write too big). Hmmmm. What’s a girl to do?

So I had a thought. Too bad I couldn’t paint an entire wall with chalkboard paint….Wait a minute! Why couldn’t I?

And so I did. I painted the entire wall in our back entryway with chalkboard paint. I’m pretty confident when taking on a painting project, but I have to admit that I hesitated right before I started to apply BLACK paint to my wall.

Guess what? I LOVE it! And so do our boys. In fact, within minutes of “seasoning” my chalkboard wall (more on that in a moment), my boys grabbed a piece of chalk and drew on every available inch of it so I guess that means it’s staying.

Chalkboard paint is relatively easy to use. I bought it at our local Walmart for $9. A little goes a long way, so remember that you can use it for more than one project.

Follow these steps to create a chalkboard in your house – however big or small you choose.

  • As with any other time you paint, make sure you have a good base to start from, i.e., it should be clean and smooth.
  • Lightly sand the surface to give the paint something to cling to.
  • Stir paint really well.
  • Apply the first coat in a well-ventilated area.
  • Wait six hours and apply one more coat.

Tip: Instead of completely cleaning up only to get everything back out a few hours later, I wrap my brush in good ‘ol plastic wrap and my roller in a plastic bag with the air squeezed out. For the tray, I just dump the excess paint back into the can and put the lid on so it doesn’t dry out. Moving on…

  • Let it cure for 24 hours.
  • You must “season” the surface before you can write on it. To do this, just rub the entire surface with a piece of chalk held sideways.
  • Erase and enjoy your new chalkboard.

For more complete instructions, be sure to read the directions on the back of the can.

Tip: To clean your new chalkboard, you can use a felt eraser or a wet paper towel. To get it really clean (like when you were in fifth grade and could immediately tell that the janitors cleaned the chalkboards over school break), use some WD-40. Yes, you read that right. Just wipe it onto a dishcloth and throw it in the washer with the next load of towels.

Now all you have to do is pick up a piece of chalk when you want to write yourself a reminder, remember a favorite quote or keep your kids occupied while you are talking on the phone.

Published in: on November 1, 2010 at 3:29 am  Comments (2)  
Tags: , , ,

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://makeminevintage.wordpress.com/2010/11/01/the-chalkboard-wall/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

2 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. Love it. We made a magnetic chalkboard wall above the desk in our kitchen, and it’s been great! Our girls love to draw on it. 🙂

    • Very, very cool. Thanks for sharing!


Leave a Reply

