A Semi-Spooky Mantle

I normally don’t decorate for Halloween, but I saw so many great ideas online and in magazines, I thought I would give it a try.

Here is what I came up with:

There is still plenty of time to create a semi-spooky mantle of your own as this takes almost no time to pull together.

All you need is:

  • some spider webbing (about $2 a bag at Walgreen’s)
  • rubber spider (optional)
  • black contruction paper
  • scissors and tape 
  • a sheet of black foam (or more black construction paper)
  • twine

Follow the directions on the bag to make the spider webs. All you do is pull and twist the webbing in random ways. This took me the longest because I am a perfectionist and it had to look just right!

I used the template from Country Living to make the flying paper bats, out of black construction paper. I made some larger and some smaller than the template to make it more interesting. Then I just taped them to the wall and the mirror to make it look like they were flying.

For the “BOO” banner, I printed out the letters onto regular copy paper. I just picked a font that I liked and made it as large as I could to fit the paper. Trace the letters onto the black foam (or construction paper) and then cut them out and tape them to the twine.

And that’s it – a mantle dressed for Halloween with just a little effort. I seriously didn’t spent more than a half hour on this after I had gathered all the supplies.

The biggest test was when my boys woke up the next morning. They noticed the mantle immediately and thought it was really cool. Then they proceeded to stick all sorts of plastic spider and bat rings in it.

Happy Halloween!

Published in: on October 28, 2010 at 11:37 am  Comments (2)  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://makeminevintage.wordpress.com/2010/10/28/a-semi-spooky-mantle-and-a-cute-bat-craft/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

2 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. […] A Semi-Spooky Mantle […]

  2. […] the past eight weeks, it’s been both spooky and thankful. Now it’s full of […]


Leave a Reply

