Before and After: The Bench

This handsome bench was given to me by a friend. It was in great shape, but the honey-toned finish read much too “country” for me.

When I looked at it, all I could envision was that medium country blue that was all the rage in the late 80s – you know the one with lots of ducks and chickens in the decor to boot. That’s great if you love that look, but I was looking for something a bit more understated.

Here she is before:

 

Warning:  If you are a professional furniture refinisher, you’ll want to look away at this point!

Two cans of black satin spray paint and 45 minutes later, she graciously welcomes guests in our entryway:

Since I love all things vintage, I decided to distress the edges in places that would normally see a lot of wear.  Some 100 grit sandpaper and a few extra minutes did the trick.

I think she looks beautiful. Best of all, I no longer have visions of ducks or chickens when I look at her!

Published in: on October 23, 2010 at 12:37 pm  Leave a Comment  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://makeminevintage.wordpress.com/2010/10/23/before-and-after-the-bench/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

