My Dream Chair…From Goodwill

I like things with a history and a story to tell. If it’s old and looks like it’s been well loved or used, chances are I’ll love it.

On my regular trip through our local thrift store, nothing caught my eye and begged me to take it home. That is, until I turned the corner and saw IT. Or rather, it saw me.

The perfect vintage chair. It had a beautiful tufted back in a neutral patterned fabric complete with curvy legs. It was love at first site, I tell you. And it was in great shape. I held my breath as I looked at the price tag. Only $23 – yea!

One last thing to check…does it smell? Oh yes, I did. I smelled the chair right in the middle of Goodwill.

No unpleasant odor to be found. Come to mama!

Then it occured to me that a full size chair will not fit in my vehicle with my two children in tow.  How on earth will I get it home?

Hmmmm. Think, Kim, THINK.

Sitting in the chair, I called my friend Amanda and said, “Can I borrow your mini van for the next 40 minutes? (pause) It’s Kim.”

A: (hesitantly) “Um…yeah…why?”

K: “I found this really cool chair and it’s only $23 and I have to have it, but it won’t fit in my car with my kids. Can you help?”

A: “Come on over.”

A little side note for you. That is how you know you have a good friend – if she’ll let you borrow her vehicle on the spur of the moment so you can buy your dream chair.

I was positively giddy as I started to walk up to the cash register and then thought, “What if someone sees my lovely chair and trys to buy it when I’m at the cash register?”

So I did the only sensible and mature thing possible – I grabbed the seat cushion and took it with me to the checkout counter. I happily paid for my new-to-me chair and drove to my friend’s house to borrow her van. A few minutes later, I picked up my chair and hauled it through the front door of my house.

Mental note: old furniture is well made and REALLY heavy. Need to start working out.

I was so proud of my purchase that I stopped to take a picture of it to show my friend so she could ‘ooh” and “ahh” over it with me.

A: “It’s so YOU.”

K: “I know! Thank you, thank you, thank you for letting me borrow your van!”

Behold, the chair:

It has a place of honor in a corner of our bedroom. Because every bedroom should have at least one place to sit other than the bed, right?

Published in: on October 14, 2010 at 2:26 pm  Leave a Comment  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://makeminevintage.wordpress.com/2010/10/14/my-dream-chair-from-goodwill/trackback/