When Life Gets Overwhelming…

I have a confession to make. I’m recovering. From a lot of things, really. Perfectionism. Busyness. And a love of stuff in general.

Now I’m on a journey to simplify all aspects of my life.

Maybe it’s because I’m getting older (and hopefully wiser). Or maybe it’s because I lost my beloved papa earlier this year – a man I dearly loved – and have given myself some time to reflect.

When I’m overwhelmed with life, I think about one of my favorite quotes:

“There will be time enough to do it all,

but not all at once.”

Those words help me remember that this life is fleeting and that our priorities are everything. We all need to focus more on the big stuff of life – loving the Lord, serving our family, taking time for rest and exercise and, well, living – and let the little everyday annoyances go.

So the next time you find yourself buried in a mountain of to-do’s – phone calls to return, errands to run, dishes to wash and laundry to fold – stop and remember that you really can do most of what you want to do in this life – just not all at the same time.

Published in: on October 12, 2010 at 1:16 am  Comments (2)  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://makeminevintage.wordpress.com/2010/10/12/when-life-gets-overwhelming/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

2 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. […] I tried my hand at making a ruffled t-shirt a while back, but it didn’t turn out very well. I couldn’t bear to just throw away a perfectly useful t-shirt, even though it didn’t turn out very well. So now I’m using it to sleep in until I get up the courage to try again sometime soon. (Remember I’m a recovering perfectionist). […]

  2. […] I conquer healthy eating, I’ll move on to exercise. But I’m taking it one thing at a time. When I try to change everything at once, I […]


Leave a Reply

