A Gentle and Quiet Reminder

Not too long ago, I read a book by a homeschooling mom of eight children on how to have a gentle and quiet spirit.

Needless to say, I was convicted – in a good way.

So I started thinking about how I could create some kind of visual to remind me to have a gentle and quiet spirit in this busy modern world.

And here is what I came up with:

Here is a close up of those little frames:

This project was so easy. I bought some frames at the dollar spot at Michael’s, spray painted them oil rubbed bronze and hung these words in a random pattern on a wall in our bedroom:

a gentle and quiet spirit

It’s taken from 1 Peter 3:3-5 which says, “Your beauty should not come from outward adornment, such as braided hair and the wearing of gold jewelry and fine clothes. Instead, it should be that of your inner self, the unfading beauty of a gentle and quiet spirit, which is of great worth in God’s sight.”

Now every time I walk by that little corner, I am reminded what is of great worth in God’s sight. Another version says, “precious”.

When I first read that verse years ago, I thought God was saying that women should stop wearing makeup, never do our hair and only wear sweatpants.

Boy, was I wrong.

I heard a sermon that illuminated that verse. It simply means that we are to be more concerned with what we look like on the inside than what we look like on the outside. An the only way we can become beautiful on the inside is to spend time at His feet, soaking in His word.

That makes so much more sense to me – and I can still wear mascara.

God’s word is so magnificent!!

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://makeminevintage.wordpress.com/2011/04/30/a-gentle-and-quiet-reminder/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

2 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. I LOVE YOUR BLOG! ITS PRICELESS
    KEEP DOING WHAT U DO UR CREATIVE AND U MADE ME SMILE
    HAVE A GOOD ONE
    CHECK ME OUT WHEN YOU HAVE TIME
    http://ethicalfutures.wordpress.com/2011/04/28/the-pancake-brawl-ghetto-girls-destory-ihop/

  2. That scripture is so beautiful. Thank you for this post.


Leave a comment