Best Ever Oatmeal Muffins

This is seriously THE best oatmeal muffin recipe ever. (And I should know because I’m a muffin girl and I’ve tried a lot of them).

Besides the taste, the best thing about this muffin is that it’s made in only one bowl. One bowl equals less cleanup – always a plus in my book.

Best Ever One-Bowl Oatmeal Muffins

Note: the oats soak in the milk for one hour before adding the rest of the ingredients. Makes 12 medium muffins.

  • 1 C buttermilk
  • 1 C oats
  • 1 large egg, at room temperature
  • ¼ C dark brown sugar
  • ½ C butter, melted and cooled slightly
  • 1 C plus 2 T flour
  • ¼ tsp salt
  • 1 tsp baking powder
  • ½ tsp baking soda
  • 1/4 tsp nutmeg
  • 1/2 tsp cinnamon
  • 1/2 C dried cherries or cranberries
  • 1/2 C white chocolate chips

Combine buttermilk and oats in a large bowl and let stand one hour.

Preheat the oven to 375 degrees. Spray a twelve-cup muffin tin with Pam for Baking (LOVE that stuff). Crack the egg into the oat and milk mixture; add brown sugar and mix to combine. Stir in melted butter.

Stir in flour, salt, baking powder, baking soda and spices. Do not overmix. Add dried fruit and white chocolate chips, combining gently.

Use a 1/3 cup measuring cup to scoop batter into muffin tins. Bake until light brown, about 12 minutes.

Tips: If you are using quick oats, let it stand for a 1/2 hour. If you don’t have buttermilk, you can add one teaspoon of white vinegar to the milk instead.

Note: I stumbled upon it from a blog a while ago, but now I can’t remember which one. If you know whose recipe this is, please send me an email and I’ll be sure to link to the post.

Enjoy these for breakfast with some green tea or as an afternoon snack with a cold glass of milk. A word of caution, though, these muffins don’t last long in our house!

Published in: on November 12, 2010 at 4:02 pm  Comments (4)  
Tags: , ,

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: http://makeminevintage.wordpress.com/2010/11/12/best-ever-oatmeal-muffins/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

4 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. Oatmeal muffins! These are my favorites. I should probably bake some of this tomorrow and share with my kids in breakfast with some hot coffee and fresh milk.

  2. This recipe is one of the nutritious one that I ever read. I think adding some cream cheese frostings will make it yummier for the kids. Thanks a lot.

    • Hi there – thanks so much for stopping by and leaving a comment. I agree with you, cream cheese frosting would make pretty much anything taste better:)

  3. [...] And don’t even get me started on breakfast. I think oatmeal or my favorite oatmeal muffins: [...]


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 49 other followers

